Skip Navigation

University of Nebraska–Lincoln

  • Virtual Nebraska Logo

Virtual Nebraska

Educational Modules

Disaster Aid Application Deadline Approaches

(Lincoln, Neb) -- Local governments and certain non-profit organizations in 39 Nebraska counties that incurred storm-related costs have less than two weeks to apply for federal assistance, according to state and federal recovery officials.

"We've tried to be very thorough in seeking out potentially eligible applicants but it's important for any local entities out there who have not yet applied to contact us immediately," said Brig. Gen. Francis Laden, state coordinating officer for the disaster operation.

The State of Nebraska, local governments and some non-profit organizations have until Dec. 1 to file a Notice of Interest, which informs state and federal recovery officials of disaster-related damage. Federal guidelines require that a Notice of Interest be filed within 30 days following a presidential disaster declaration.

Deputy Federal Coordinating Officer Curt Musgrave added, "Filing that Notice of Interest is a necessary first step to get the process going. We don't want any potential applicant that wants federal assistance to miss that deadline."

Entities who have not yet filed a Notice of Interest should contact Joe Martin, state public assistance officer, at 402-437-3906 or Public Assistance Specialist Kathy Davis at 402-437-3932.

President Clinton's disaster declaration Nov. 1 enabled entities in 38 Nebraska counties to be eligible for federal assistance to help pay for 75 percent of approved costs incurred from debris removal and emergency protective measures. Last week, Dodge County was added to the list of eligible counties bringing the total to 39.

Counties eligible for federal assistance under the Presidential disaster declaration are: Adams, Banner, Buffalo, Butler, Cass, Cheyenne, Clay, Custer, Dawson, Douglas, Fillmore, Franklin, Frontier, Furnas, Gosper, Hall, Hamilton, Harlan, Hayes, Hitchcock, Kearney, Kimball, Lancaster, Lincoln, Nuckolls, Otoe, Phelps, Polk, Red Willow, Saline, Sarpy, Saunders, Scotts Bluff, Seward, Thayer, Washington, Webster, and York.

Updated: November 21, 1997