Skip Navigation

University of Nebraska–Lincoln

  • Virtual Nebraska Logo

Virtual Nebraska

Educational Modules

President Declares Major Disaster for Iowa Eleven Counties Designated for Aid to Local Governments

WASHINGTON -- Eleven Iowa counties were designated for federal aid today by the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) immediately after President Clinton declared the state a major disaster area because of the effects of an early winter storm last October 26-28.

FEMA Director James Lee Witt said the President's action makes federal funds available to the state and affected local governments to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and restoring essential public facilities damaged by the storm. The declaration also provides funding to the state on a cost-shared basis for approved projects that reduce future disaster risks.

The 11 counties designated eligible for the aid include Clarke, Iowa, Jasper, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Mills, Polk, Pottawattamie, Union and Warren. Witt indicated that additional counties may be designated for assistance later if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Warren Pugh, Jr., of FEMA's regional office in Kansas City, Mo., was named by Witt to coordinate the federal relief effort. Pugh said that procedures for requesting assistance will be explained at a series of applicant briefings at locations to be announced shortly in the affected areas.

Updated: November 20, 1997