Skip Navigation

University of Nebraska–Lincoln

  • Virtual Nebraska Logo

Virtual Nebraska

Educational Modules

Dodge County Added to Disaster Declaration

(Lincoln, Neb.) November 17, 1997 -- Dodge County was added Friday to the list of Nebraska counties eligible for federal disaster assistance following the late October snow storm, according to federal and state disaster recovery officials.

The designation was made by Warren M. Pugh, Jr., federal coordinating officer for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), following a review of additional information estimating damages incurred because of the early winter storm.

The designation means that local governments and some non-profit organizations in Dodge County now are eligible to apply for 75 percent federal share disaster assistance for approved costs of debris removal and emergency protective measures. Federal funding also is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures.

Brig. Gen. Francis Laden, Nebraska state coordinating officer, said that federal/state inspection teams had surveyed the affected areas with local officials before making the eligibility recommendation. As with the other eligible counties, the financial assistance does not apply to individuals, according to Laden.

The addition of Dodge County brings to 39 the number of Nebraska counties eligible for the public assistance programs authorized as a result of a major disaster declaration issued by President Clinton on November 1.

Updated: November 17, 1997