Skip Navigation

University of Nebraska–Lincoln

  • Virtual Nebraska Logo

Virtual Nebraska

Educational Modules

Iowa Governor Requests Major Disaster Declaration

Result of severe snowstorm in late October

WASHINGTON November 13, 1997 -- The Governor of Iowa, Terry E. Branstad, submitted a request for a major disaster declaration for the damage sustained by the state during the severe snowstorm of Oct. 26-28. The governor requested Public Assistance (PA) and Hazard Mitigation (HM) for 13 counties in which Preliminary Damage Assessments (PDAs) were conducted Nov. 7-10. The counties are Clarke, Clinton, Iowa, Jasper, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Mills, Polk, Pottawattamine, Tama, Union and Warren.

The storm, which already led to a major disaster declaration for Nebraska, brought between six and 16 inches of heavy, wet snow that snapped power lines and telephone cables and clogged roadways with electrical wire and debris from trees. Power was knocked out to 120,000 citizens, schools, and businesses, some for as long as five days. As the storm's impact became clear, the governor activated the Iowa Emergency Plan and declared a State of Emergency Proclamation for 52 counties.

State support of local damage assessments is ongoing. As of the completion of PDAs on Nov. 10, approximately 50 percent of the debris removal and repairs to damaged systems had been completed.

Updated: November 13, 1997