Skip Navigation

University of Nebraska–Lincoln

  • Virtual Nebraska Logo

Virtual Nebraska

Educational Modules

Major Disaster Declared for Nebraska to Aid Local Governments in 38 Counties

Effective November 12, Dodge County Added

WASHINGTON November 2, 1997 -- Federal disaster aid has been made available to help local governments in 38 Nebraska counties recover from the effects of a major snow storm that struck the state last weekend, according to the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

FEMA Director James Lee Witt said the assistance was authorized by President Clinton under a major disaster declaration issued last night. The declaration covers debris removal and emergency services related to the severe snowstorms, rain and strong winds that occurred during the period of October 24-26.

The 38 counties designated for aid by Witt following the declaration include Adams, Banner, Buffalo, Butler, Cass, Cheyenne, Clay, Custer, Dawson, Douglas, Fillmore, Franklin, Furnas, Frontier, Gosper, Hall, Hamilton, Harlan, Hayes, Hitchcock, Kearney, Kimball, Lancaster, Lincoln, Nuckolls, Otoe, Phelps, Polk, Red Willow, Saline, Sarpy, Saunders, Scotts Bluff, Seward, Thayer, Washington, Webster, and York.

Please note: Dodge County added for Public Assistance effective Nov. 12, 1997

Witt said the state and local governments in these counties are eligible to apply for federal funding to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal and emergency services related to the disaster.

Warren Pugh, Jr., of FEMA's regional office in Kansas City, Mo., was named by Witt to coordinate the federal relief effort. Pugh said that procedures for requesting assistance will be explained at a series of applicant briefings at locations to be announced shortly in the affected areas.

Updated: December 8, 1997